Posted by: thewritingstudio | March 16, 2010

A Day with a mermaid

 One day I was at my grandmother house and I was watching T.V. but I got bored so I told my grandmother if I could go down to the seaside which is a stone’s throw away from my grandmothers house and she said I could.

So I got my rock shoes, my bucket, my spade, a towel and my wet suit and I went down. The waves were calm and the sun was shining so I sat down on the rocks. I picked up lots on shells and put them in my bucket. Then suddenly something caught my eye. I looked at the sea and saw something with a long blue shine tail go past. I rubbed my eyes, then looked again. There it was again but this time it went past even faster so I couldn’t quite see it. I didn’t know what to do. On one hand I wanted it to come back but on the other hand I didn’t know what it was so I didn’t want it to come back.

 I looked in the sea but there was no sign of it. So I turned around to check if there was anyone else in the area. I turned back around and I couldn’t believe my eyes. There was a mermaid sitting on the rocks right in front of me. I looked at her long shiny blue fish tail and long brown wavy hair and sparkling blue eyes. I told her hello and asked her if she was English or Maltese. She told me she spoke English. I asked her what her name was and she said her name was Tinkerbelle. I told her my name was Aston. So she told me that my name was nice and I told her that hers was too.

Then she asked me if I wanted to go under the sea with her and she could show me around. But I told her that I can’t hold my breath for long. So she jumped in the water and got me a pink shiny shell. She told me to breathe in it for a few seconds then stop. So I did and a long pink tail appeared on me. I was so excited to have a fish tail I was a mermaid. We held hands and dived into the water. I opened my eyes and I could see everything every clearly and I could understand Tinkerbelle clearly. I asked her if there were any more mermaids and mermen. She told me that there weren’t many left.

First she showed me a rock that was covered in all different coloured sea weed. Lots of fish lived near it, mostly rainbow fish. They were quite big, the size of a child’s hand and of course they were the colour of the rainbow. Next we saw anemones where clown fish like Nemo lived. They were quite small but there were a lot of them. Then we saw a rock full of hermit crabs. Their shells were all different colours with different designs on them. I walked up to one and touched it and as soon as I did it went straight back in its shell.

After she showed me all that we went a bit deeper into the sea and she went under the sea and whistled. Two dolphins swam towards us. We climbed on their backs and they took us for a ride. It was so much fun! Then the sun started to set so the dolphins left. Tinkerbelle and I swam back to where I was sitting. I got out of the water and she got the pink shell again and I breathed in it again and in two seconds, the tail was gone. But before I left Tinkerbelle took the necklace from around her neck. It had a small pink shell tied to it and she put it in my hand and told me to keep it. I looked at the sea and when I looked up she was gone.

I went home that night but I never told anyone what had happened. I woke up the next morning and I ran down to the seaside but there was no sign of Tinkerbelle. So I walked back home to my grandmother’s house. I thought it was all a dream but when I went to the room where I was sleeping I saw the necklace on my bed!              

Aston Corner 6.1


Responses

  1. Well Done !
    From Jess.

  2. good job!!!!🙂

  3. Well done

  4. good story!!!keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

